Fray International Sustainability Award

    About Award             Winners    

Dr. Barry James Marshall

Barry James Marshall

Professor Barry Marshall is a distinguished Nobel Laureate, WA Life Science Ambassador, and Clinical Professor at The University of Western Australia (UWA). He and Professor J Robin Warren were jointly awarded the 2005 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine for their ground-breaking discovery of Helicobacter pylori and its link to gastritis and peptic ulcer disease. After returning to UWA from America in 1996, Marshall became a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1998, Order of Australia in 2007 and a Foreign Member of the US National Academy of Science in 2008. He received the China Friendship Award in 2015. Currently, he leads multiple medical research centres. One of these centres is located in Perth, while the other four are based in China. These research centres are at the forefront of scientific advancement, emphasising cutting-edge technologies like genomic analysis and next-generation sequencing. They are dedicated to conducting innovative research in infectious diseases, advancing diagnostic methods, and designing effective drugs. By harnessing the power of these advanced technologies, the centres aim to deepen our understanding of infectious diseases, develop improved diagnostics, and create innovative treatments. Professor Marshall's leadership and expertise have propelled these research centres to the forefront of medical advancements, fostering collaborations and pioneering breakthroughs in the field of infectious diseases.

Video of the FLOGEN SIPS 2023 Award ceremony where Dr. Barry James Marshall won the Fray International Sustainability Award. The ceremony was hosted by Dr. Florian Kongoli, chairman of FLOGEN.